Trip Essentials



Hong Kong is located in the South China Sea at the mouth of Pearl River Delta. It is situated in the southeastern coast of People’s Republic of China, bordering the Guangdong city of Shenzhen to the north. Located 60 km west of Hong Kong is Macau on the other side of the Pearl River Delta.

It consists of four main regions: Hong Kong Island, the Kowloon Peninsula, the New Territories, and 262 outlying islands, of which Lantau Island is the largest.

The total area of Hong Kong is 2,755 km2, of which 1,104 km2 is land and 1650 km2 is sea area.  The land areas of Hong Kong Island, Kowloon, and New Territories are 81 km2, 47 km2, and 976 km2 respectively.

Despite Hong Kong being one of the most densely populated areas in the world, it is home to an abundance of green land. In fact, less than 25% of land area is developed, and approximately 40% are reserved as country parks and nature reserves.


Add your comment

Please enter the Verify Code